• Twitter

Plan of Attack

I have been doing some thinking of where, how, with whom, etc. I would like to travel once I am done with my internship here in Barcelona. Put simply – my traveling will start at the beginning of August, finish in the end of November and I have no definite destinations or obligations in that time frame.

I have recently been thinking of an entirely different approach than before. My new plan is to travel as cheaply and as far off “the beaten track” as possible. My reason for this type of approach is that I enjoy learning about different cultures and customs, which becomes difficult when you travel to places which cater to all of your needs as a tourist. I want to immerse myself in various cultures; to dive into the deep end without my floaties on, instead of wading in the kiddie pool…per say.

I am considering couchsurfing as my means for a place to sleep/eat. Here is a link for those of you who don’t know about couchsurfing or want some more information; also, here is a link to my profile.

My question to all of you reading this is – what are your thoughts and/or suggestions?

2 Responses

  1. After reading your “Plan of Attack” on the blog, my first reaction was of you when you about 3 years old swimming in the deep end of a pool with me side stroking beside you. You had a bar bell floatie under your arms for “swimming assistance”. Suddenly you took the floatie and tossed it aside saying: “Me don’t need”.

    Unfortunately, at that time in your life you did need – – – and you started sinking. I dragged you to the side and was a bit shaken up, but you were none the worse for wear and went back to the floatie and learning to swim.

    I wish you MUCH better luck your first time couchsurfing!!

    Love, Mom

  2. Hey Kev! I think this is a great idea… I checked out the website it a little and I think it could be one of the coolest experiences ever!! Don’t forget you are always welcome to surf across my couch in Vienna or Nashville once I move!! Enjoy your travels!
    Jess

Leave a comment