• Twitter

Tale of The Night

So it is probably about that time that I write a post about some tales of the night I’ve had. I’ve been really fortunate this entire trip thus far… I’ve met some really great people, made new friends, caught up with some old ones, learned a lot, and have had some really great experiences.

Now for the tale –

I went to Barcelona yesterday to catch up with an old friend and enjoy the presence of the English language which I have missed ohh so much this past month. The night (day) started in quite a relaxing fashion – myself, my friend Hannah and her friends Derek and Liz all went to the beach around 5 and enjoyed a few drinks…after a few more, Derek and I decided it would be a good idea to enjoy the fresh feel of the ocean (which was definitely refreshing to say the least). The beaches in Barcelona are quite a site for the eyes…if you enjoy people watching like I do, you will certainly be entertained; from elaborate sand castles, old naked men on bicycles, 50 foot yachts, etc. there is a view to satisfy everyone’s taste.

On a side note – Some proof my Spanish has been improving significantly…I am now comfortable bargaining in Spanish and have been quite successful so far (which I pay attribute to my fathers relentless bargaining skills I have witnessed for the past 20 years of my life haha). A few key bargains in my opinion:

  • 10 minute – 5 Euro back massage on the beach down to a 8 minute – 2 Euro back massage (which I didn’t even really want in the first place, I merely just wanted to bargain for the sake of bargaining…but in the end, it was money well spent…cause who doesn’t want a back massage on the beaches of Barcelona?!?!)
  • Personal Favorite: I successfully bargained for a cheeseburger at McDonald’s after they had closed the registers and doors. I know what you are thinking…how is that even possible?? I am not to sure either about the words which were exchanged, but I will attribute this one to my current state of drunkeness soberness and intense craving for a cheeseburger. In the end, I payed one of the employees 1 Euro (which is less than they cost normally) for one of his that he was planning on eating haha.

After the beach, we met two fellows from England and two others from Italy and all went out into the streets in search of a good bar. One of the main touristy streets in the city is called La Rambla (which in Spanish simply means The Avenue and usually each city has a main street called La Rambla) which is where we wandered around. I thought that the street was crazy with commotion and sites during the day but the human statues and street vendors of the day were dwarfed by the people of the night. In short, there are quite a lot of sites to see amidst the night here in Barcelona…however, most of which I do not feel comfortable writing down for the public eye haha so you will just have to see for yourself!! The night went on as we hopped from bar to bar meeting new people, sharing stories, experiences, and a lot to drink. We all made it back to the hostel around 4 or so in the morning and slept in what could have doubled as a sauna to finish off the night…

One Response

  1. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an very long comment but after I
    clicked

    submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m
    not writing all that over again.

    Anyhow, just wanted to say excellent blog!

Leave a comment